Conditional Sentences (Tugas Softskill)

CONDITIONAL SENTENCE

Conditional Sentences are also known as Conditional Clauses or If Clauses. Conditional tenses are used to speculate about what could happen, what might have happened, and what we wish would happen.

  1. Conditional sentence IF
  • Conditional sentence type 1

It is possible and also very likely that the condition will be fulfilled.

Form : If + Simple Present, will-future

Example :

– If I have a lot of money, I’ll treat you

– If I study hard, I’ll pass the test

 

  • Conditional sentence type 2

It is possible but very unlikely, that the condition will be fulfilled.

Form : If + Simple Past, Conditional I (would + infinitive)

Example :

-If he had permission from his parents, he would travel alone

-If I studied hard, I would pass the test

 

  • Conditional type 3

It is impossible that the condition will be fulfilled because it refers to the past.

Form : If + Past perfect, Conditional II (would + have + past participle)

Example :

 -If you had repaired my laptop, I would have pay you

-If I had bought some bread, I would have give you

  1. Conditional sentence WISH

The expressions I wish/If only are used in English to express wishes and regrets about things that may happen in the future or may have happened in the past.

  • Type 1

We use past tense modals would and could to talk about wishes for the future:

Example :

-I don’t like my shoes, I wish I could buy new one

-I can’t play guitar, I wish someone could teach me

  • Type 2

We use past tense forms to talk about wishes for the present:

Example :

-Everyone wishes they had a lot of money

-I wish I were a doctor

 

  • Type 3

We use the past perfect to talk about wishes for the past:

Example :

-I wish I had never told him my secret

-Yui wishes she hadn’t spent so much money last month

 

  1. Conditional Sentence UNLESS

Unless means the same as if…not. Like if, unless is followed by a present tense, a past tense or a past perfect tense (never by conditional). Unless is used instead of if..not in conditional sentences of all types. The order of the clauses doesn’t matter with sentences using unless.

  • Type 1

Form : Unless + Present Tense

Example :

-You’ll be sick unless you stop eating

-Unless we hurry, we will be late for the show

 

  • Type 2

Form : Unless + Past Tense

Example :

-I wouldn’t eat that food unless I was hungry

-Unless he had permission from his parents, he wouldn’t travel alone

 

  • Type 3

Form : Unless + Past Perfect

Example :

-They wouldn’t have come over unless we’d invited them

-Unless you had suggested it, I wouldn’t have phoned him

Leave a Reply

